Lavender bushes and a free wallpaper

09Jul09

It’s summer and lavenders are in bloom. Short of making a trip to Provence, and believe me I would LOVE to go there, I’m shooting the few lavender bushes we’ve planted out front, and also planning a trip (or two) to a few lavender farms for the weekend’s Oregon Lavender Festival.

I got a couple of shots I like from the bushes that I’d like to share with you.

Our lavender bushes attract lots of bees, and being the buzy bees that they are, they can’t seem to stop buzzing around from flower to flower, which makes them rather hard to photograph. Yet there seem to be this one honeybee that have decided to be something else instead, maybe some sort of beetle, and just sit on one of the flower stalks for an extended period of time. Here’s that bee.

Unbuzzy bee

Unbuzzy bee

I like how much of the image is just awashed in out of focus pastels except for that one flower stalk with the bee.

Similarly, I like this landscape shot as well. No bee this time, but the same concept of one in focus lavender flower stalk with the much of the image out of focus and blurred.

Get your wallpaper in the link below

Get your wallpaper in the link below

I thought this image might work well for someone’s wallpaper, so I’ve made it available for your personal use without watermarking and have resized it to 1920×1200 for your download pleasure to fit your large widescreen LCD monitor here.

If you don’t need that size or don’t have a monitor with the same aspect ratio, it should still work with the right settings if you use “stretch” or “center” in Windows, and some other setting I’m not familiar with in a Mac OS near you.

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Lavender bushes and a free wallpaper”

  1. If some one needs expert view concerning blogging after that i
    recommend him/her to go to see this blog, Keep up the nice work.

  2. When I initially commented I appear to have clicked on the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment
    is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that
    service? Thanks a lot!



