To GS or not to GS

09Jun09

iphone_3gsThis is so yesterday, literally, but the new iPhone 3GS (‘S’ for Speed!) was finally announced yesterday at WWDC and what has been rumored, speculated, dispelled, confirmed, dispelled again, finally happened.

The geek that I am, I eagerly awaited the announcement, and kept reloading the live blogging by Engadget as I combed over the post to extract morsels of information from between the lines.

The best camera is the one you have with you. That old cliche rings true for me, and I’ve been (mostly) contentedly carrying my iPhone 3G around for 3/4 of a year now, taking pictures with its mediocre 2MP camera, wishing for better quality and macro capabilities, but still finding some creativity in the process.

I really didn’t think Apple would announce a new phone just a year after the big announcement that is the iPhone 3G, so when rumors started flying, I was intrigued.

Now that it’s out, I’m quite happy with the new specs of a 3.2MP camera with autofocus and white balance, better low light capabilities, and even macro down to 10cm! All that sounds brilliant, but upgrading early comes at a cost — an extra $200 to be precise. So the debate starts on whether it’s worth it.

At this point, I’m saying yes, and I’ve gone ahead and preordered it, but I suppose I can still change my mind before the June 19th delivery date.

The best camera is the one you have with you. Except when you can afford to pay an extra $200 above the price of $299 for the 32GB version.

Cheers!

