No irises to show for

21May09

I very strongly lean towards the simplicity of design in my photos, which sometimes makes getting good shots a little difficult in some situations.

For instance, I was at Shreiner’s Iris Gardens near Salem, Oregon last weekend, and while there were many beautiful bearded irises in the garden, I didn’t find anything I’d take — the flowers were just too complicated and angular for my photographic taste. In fact, I ended up shooting mostly leaves and alliums!

If someone has any great artistic photos of irises, I’d love to see them and learn from you.

Until then, these are some of what I ended up liking…

Silhouettes of alliums

Silhouettes of alliums

Cheery morning calls

Cheery morning calls

This is the only shot of an iris flower that I thought was interesting because of the texture, but it could really be any flower:

Splashes of purple

Splashes of purple

I actually desaturated the green background of this next image some because it looked fake!

Allium

Allium

And my leaf series:

Cold

Cold

Luminescent green

Luminescent green

Shadows of leaves

Shadows of leaves

You can see my other photos in the flora series on my photo site.

This coming Memorial Day weekend has the Iris Gardens putting up a BBQ chicken and jazz show starting at 11am on Saturday. If you’re in the area and are interested in attending, I’d recommend going early and doing a little shooting prior to event. The flowers should just about to peak this weekend, me reckon. We were there at 7am last weekend and we pretty much had the place to ourselves.

Cheers!

