Flowers at the Alma Mater

13Apr09

I’ve been out of this for several weeks now, not writing and just getting on with the rest of my life. My apologizes to the few readers I may have.

Well, I’m sort of back, maybe.

Mrs. Blog and I took a trip to Seattle over the weekend. Her sister flew into town on a business trip and we hung out for the weekend. Good food, good friends — what’s not to like? In particular, we had breakfast at Hi Life in Ballard, and it was pretty dang cool place. Breakfast was good, but I really like that they have themes every few months. It’s currently a Southern French theme, with menu and decoration matching the theme. It changes to Northwest cuisine some time in July.

Anyway, this is generally supposed to be about photography, so let me get to that. It was supposed to rain most of the weekend, but as luck will have it, the rain took a breather, and allowed the sun to break through a little.

It’s Spring here in the Pacific Northwest and the flowers are blooming. One of my favorite places to enjoy this is at the Quad at the University of Washington. I don’t know how many, but there are many Yoshino cherry trees in the Quad, and when they bloom in Spring, it’s a real sight. For the past few years, we’ve tried to make it up here before the Spring rains brings them all down, but haven’t been successfully. Until now.

Lots of people were enjoying the Quad as we were, and there were many photographers there, tripods and all.

Cherry blossoms bloom in the Quad at the University of Washington

Cherry blossoms bloom in the Quad at the University of Washington

I’m still working through the images, but here’s another one.

Blooming in the Quad.

Flowing cherry blossoms contrast with the rectilinear buildings at the Quad

How’s your Spring so far?

3 Responses to “Flowers at the Alma Mater”

  1. 1 Barrie

    Hi Top – nice to see you back. Those cherry blossoms are beautiful!

  2. Those cherry blossoms are so great with the contrast of the green grass.

  3. 3 TopL

    Thanks for the kind words, folks!



