Writing from the tropics

03Mar09

Hello there from partly rainy Singapore. I’m back in sweltering Asia again, but this time it’s not all fun and games — my brother-in-law is getting married, and we’re here for the wedding. The wedding is actually in Jakarta, but I’m visiting my folks in here in Singapore before flying over to Indonesia for the wedding proper.

The wedding of course is job number 1 for this trip, but a strong secondary reason is for the food. Mmm… donuts… Food is so important to Mrs. Blog and I that we have both been salivating for several months prior to flying here, and have compiled our own list of must-eat foods while we’re here. For the past few days, I’ve been busy stuffing myself silly and checking of my list. There’s nothing like gourging on favorite foods, savoring the layers of flavors, while taking in the heat and noise of the hawker centers, and then marking off a To-Do list. So far I’ve checked off carrot cake (not the kind that comes in a confection form, mind you), nasi padang, ipoh horfun, cheng tng, ruby, and a few others. For most of you, those words will probably mean nothing, but for those that do know what they are and appreciate them, you know how good they can get. Just thinking about them again is making me drool on my keyboard, which makes for rather messy typing.

Since this is really a short whirlwind trip, there’s no time for me to take short excursions to photograph the area. Although I did pack my D300 and the 17-55 lens, the only few shots I’ve taken are the interiors of shopping malls. And these malls are the modern kind that you can find in most developed countries around the world, so they’re nothing special.

On the way home by bus after running a few errands, I passed several points of interest that I realized I’ve never visited in the 15 or so years I’ve been living in this country. One was a beautifully ornate Hindu temple, and another, the largest Catholic church in Singapore. That’s kind of a shame really, as I’ve missed out on experiencing those places, and will have to miss them again this time round. It’s funny how it’s so easy to push off seeing places near you in preference for far away, “exotic” places. I’ll have to make a mental note to check out the sides of Portland I’ve yet to see.

Anyway, I’m off to Jakarta tomorrow. Maybe I’ll get some time to shoot a little, but knowing how limited it is, I doubt I will. Still it’s good to get away from work to maintain sanity.

Until the next entry, cheers!

