A day with Diana

25Feb09

This is not about a girl named Diana — I actually don’t know of any Dianas personally. This is about the Lomography Diana+ camera that I received as a gift some time back.

I took her (I guess it’ll have to be a “her” given the camera’s feminine name) out on a day in Portland, bought a roll of Fuji Pro160S 120 film from Pro Photo Supply and took a bunch of snaps around the Hawthorne around and downtown. The day was rather overcast, so I wasn’t expecting much of the images. I just wanted a sense of what this mystical Lomo look was.

After using my macho SLR for so long, I actually felt quite silly shooting with her. She felt like a toy, with the all plastic body, and the small lever-for-a-shutter-release on the side of the plastic lens. Her bright blue green didn’t help by drawing attention to me. I got my share of odd looks as I walked around snapping away.

So after about US$20 poorer from buying and developing the film, how did they turn out? In a word, awful. Firstly, Diana has dual settings for shooting in 12 or 16-frame format. I shot in 16-frame format to maximize on the number of photos I could get from my first try. When I sent it for development though, I neglected to inform the developer of this, and they cut it based on the 12-frame format.

All was not lost however, because they were so bad there was nothing to lose! I expected some of the characteristics of Lomo photos in my images, such as vignetting, slight color fringing and lack of sharpness to some degree, but the colors were dull all around. Even photos of vibrant buildings ended up draby looking. Was it the overcast sky? Incorrect camera settings? Wrong film? I don’t know. Diana is a black box to me and so far I haven’t figured out how she works yet.

So for now, I have nothing to show for. Hopefully the next date will prove more fruitful.

Cheers.

One Response to “A day with Diana”

  1. Most people use slide film and get it cross processed to get those wild vivid colors.



