Photo book publishers galore

05Feb09

I’m fresh off publishing my first photo book using Blurb and while it was very good, I wasn’t TOTALLY pleased with it. I wrote about it here.

Since that short time ago, I’ve been checking out other publishers. So imagine my surprise when I was at Powell’s Bookstore browsing through magazines that I saw that the January/February American Photo magazine with a special edition feature showcasing images of the year also had an article on photo book publishers!

Unfortunately the article isn’t available online, so if you want to read it yourself, you can still rush over to your favorite bookstore to pick up a copy before February ends.

I can’t reproduce the article here, but it does give an overview of 10 photo book publishers:

The comparisons that interested me were how much each publisher cost, whether they support color management, and what proofing was available.

If I didn’t know better, I would’ve pick Blurb just from reading the article. Except that now that I’ve tried Blurb, I’d like to try one of the others. Several of them were too expensive for me — I’m only willing to pay up to US$50 for 30 pages, which is already too much.

Let me cut to the chase, I’d try Lulu or MyPublisher next. Both are reasonably priced (I read MyPublisher has frequent discounts) and publishes the book in 11″x8.5″ (Lulu) or 11.25″x8.75″ (MyPublisher), which is bigger than Blurb’s (10″x8″). Unfortunately, neither provides ICC profiles and only have onscreen proofing. Win some…

Actually, Apple also seems quite reasonable, but I don’t currently do Macs and you need Apple iPhoto or Aperture software to publish through them.

There you have it, more choices to ruminate over. Drop me a note if anyone tried Lulu and/or MyPublisher and have something to say about them.

Cheers.

3 Responses to “Photo book publishers galore”

  1. Huh. I was going to do a project on Blurb, but it seems I need to do a bit more research. Profiles are important for photobooks though. I saw a friends book from MyPublisher once, but I wasn’t impressed either.

  2. Huh. I was going to do a project on Blurb, but it seems I need to do a bit more research. Profiles are important for photobooks though. I saw a friends book from MyPublisher once, but I wasn’t impressed either.



