Shooting in a fog

01Feb09

No, I’m not taking photos intoxicated with a camera in one hand, and a brewski in another, although arguably, I might get more creative with photography if I did. In this case, I literally mean shooting in a fog.

For the past few days now, Portland and the surrounding area have been blanketed by a rather dense layer of fog in the morning. While driving to work, I noticed several interesting subjects to shoot and was lucky enough to have the weather pattern persist through today.

So for both yesterday and today morning, I grabbed my camera gear and set out to find interesting stuff to shoot. Yesterday, I was searching mostly in the Aloha farmland area and north of Sunset Highway in the Helvetia area. The farmland area was quite hard to shoot, because the roads were one-way each way with quite a few cars driving around, and there wasn’t a shoulder to stop when something caught my eye. The Helvetia area was much better with less traffic and sufficient places to stop. Today, I mainly confined myself to downtown Portland, with a short stopover at Pittock Mansion on the way home.

This is the first time I actively shot in fog, and I think I do have some images that worked for me.

One thing I realized is that it does require some postprocessing work to bring out the best of the images. A little local contrast enhancement or reduction helped emphasize or deemphasize the focal point. Also, I found that converting some of the images to B&W worked quite well to create a certain starkness, as they were rather monochrome already because of the fog.

Here are a couple of my better ones.

Hawthorne bridge over Willamette River.

Hawthorne bridge over Willamette River.

Quiet.

Quiet.

The other four are here.

Got an idea for shooting in fog? Drop me a note.

