Jerusalem

02Nov08

Yesterday, a friend and I visited the walled city of old Jerusalem. I was there 10 years ago, also on a business trip, but I got more opportunities to explore this time round.

After arriving, we quickly partook in an excellent brunch — me, a delicious falafel sandwich; my friend, a supposedly excellent shawarma sandwich. After our meal, we hit the rampart walk to get an overview of Jerusalem. The following photo was taken over Damascus Gate. You can see the golden Dome of the Rock and also the two grey domes of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in the skyline on the right side.

Old Jerusalem skyline

Old Jerusalem skyline

The streets were lined with interesting stores mainly catered to tourists. Maybe we weren’t there sensitive, but the changes weren’t that apparently in the stores going from the Christian quarter to the Jewish quarter to the Muslim quarter.

Inlaid chess boards on sale

Inlaid chess boards on sale

Jerusalem is incomplete without the Western Wall or Wailing Wall. Here’s an image of the Islamic Dome of the Rock in the background from the Western Wall, the most sacred of Jewish sites.

The temple mount, with the golden Dome of the Rock, share a wall with the Western Wall

The temple mount, with the golden Dome of the Rock, shares a wall with the Western Wall

Another closer shot of the Western Wall is in the Israel gallery.

We were lucky enough to be at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre while they were having some sort of rite. Maybe someone can tell me if this is a daily event or something special. The entrance to the Tomb of Christ was open and the archbishop held service. I’ve not seen such a service before, but then this is the first time I’ve seen a Greek Orthodox service.

A service is in session at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre

A service is in session at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre

One thing I do wish I have is my Adobe Lightroom. I do miss many of the editing features, such as highlight recovery, lightening of shadows, local contrast enhancement, etc. Irfanview is quite lacking beyond simple cropping. I’ll have more to show after I get home and have a chance to do some post processing.

The rest of my Jerusalem photos can be found in my Israel gallery.

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Jerusalem”

  1. 1 itsajungleoutthere

    I like your photos, especially the chess boards!

    Andrew

  2. 2 TopL

    Thanks Andrew! –TopL



