A walk in the park

14Sep08

Following the success of the Scott Kelby photo walk, a few of my work friends decided to hang out and shoot again this weekend. The final decision was to have breakfast at Rose’s Deli on 23rd Ave, and then head to the International Rose Test Garden and the Hoyt Arboretum in Washington Park to shoot some flora.

Black-Eyed Susan or Rudbeckia or coneflower

Black-Eyed Susan or Rudbeckia or coneflower

Weather worked wonderfully in our favor with the morning being a little foggy, depositing dew drops on the flowers. Then the sun came up. All this I tried to capture in some of my shots. Lighting was awesome, and I can’t fault the subjects either, but the wind wasn’t quite as cooperative.

I found myself sticking to the 60mm f/2.8 micro Nikkor lens to get really close, and shooting at really high speeds to stop motion.

I’m quite happy with what I ended up with, but I do notice a prevalence of super close ups. I also noted that I actually don’t have any shots of the Rose Garden itself. Oh well.

Dew on rose petals

Dew on rose petals

The Hoyt Arboretum didn’t show itself with as much subjects to shoot. Maybe I wasn’t trying hard enough, but I ended up with only a handful, one of which is a seed puff, or whatever the heck you call those.

Seed puff

Seed puff

Check out a few more of photos from this shoot in my flora section of Smugmug.

Cheers!

4 Responses to “A walk in the park”

  1. Top – these are beautiful! No big deal that you didn’t get any shots of the garden. You should be quite happy with what you did get. I love the rose shots in your gallery.

  2. Amazing use of micro! It gives such a different view of flowers. Reminds me a little big of Georgia O’Keffe and how she would often paint really close ups of flowers.

  3. I spend plenty of time looking around both WP and Flickr at pictures taken by so many people. But I can honestly say I haven’t yet seen a picture that is as beautiful to me as your dew on rose petals picture.

    It is simply too much. Too gorgeous. Too wonderful.

  4. 4 TopL

    Thanks all! Talk about being too much!



