World wide photo walk: A synopsis

24Aug08

The World Wide Photo Walk has come and gone yesterday. Three of my friend and I met up at Fuller’s Restaurant (excellent diner for breakfast BTW) and then proceeded to the meeting point at the Vera Katz East Esplanade, where about 50 other eager photographers were waiting for the kick off. I saw all sorts of equipment from Nikon D3’s to Canon EOS 1D’s to full-sized tripods to flashes.

Me, I packed my Nikon D300, my standard fare 17-55 f/2.8 and my 80-200 f/2.8. I considered a tripod for nice soft, long exposure water shots, but decided that it would get in the way of mobility. In retrospect, I wish I brought the 12-24 f/4 as well since there were definitely opportunities to use that lens.


Hawthorne Bridge

Hawthorne Bridge

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much. I saw it as a social event to just hang with friends who don’t normally socialize outside of work, and in that regards, it worked fabulously. I had a blast and I hope the other three feel the same way as well. As a social event with other photographers, it didn’t work so well for me. I’m glad I got to meet Barrie, but I really didn’t try too hard to mingle. The gregarious type I’m far from.

Here are some of my photos in the Photo Walk 2008 gallery on SmugMug, and here’s the Flickr link to everybody’s upload from the Portland Photo Walk. At the point of writing this, there aren’t any photos in the Flickr pool yet (mine aren’t up yet because I haven’t got membership approval to the pool yet), but I’m eagerly awaiting them to see what others saw that I didn’t.

I think I came away with some new angles to look at Portland, and am pretty happy with the results. Interestingly, I really notice what I gravitate to: simpler compositions with stronger graphic elements.

You know, I might even make another trip downtown to try again! Reviewing my photos gave me new ideas, and I’m sure new bulbs will light up in my head once I see the photos from others as well.

Cheers!

