August 23: photo walk

30Jul08

In celebration of Scott Kelby’s new Lightroom 2 book that coincides with the release of Adobe Lightroom 2, Scott is holding a world wide photo walk on August 23, Saturday. The idea is to have a social event of 50 photographers per city led by a pro photographer, like Scott Kelby himself, shooting for 2 hours in the city, ending at a pub/restaurant/bar/lounge/cafe to chimp and talk about the walk/photography/weather/etc. The event is free to join and there are prizes for best shot per city and for the entire event. See this link for more details.

Sounds like fun to me, and it give me a very good reason to get out and shoot.

Several of my friends and I have signed up for the Portland Oregon photo walk, and you should too for your city of choice. Don’t wait because each walk is limited to 50 people. Several walks, such as Detroit and DC, are already full.

If you’re in Portland and plan to attend the Portland one, drop me a note and we can meet there.

Here’s a good entry on The Zen of Photowalking by guest blogger Jeff Revell on the Scott Kelby’s Photoshop Insider blog. Jeff is hosting the DC walk. It talks about what to expect, what to bring, and what to do.

Cheers!

3 Responses to “August 23: photo walk”

  1. 1 Barrie

    I’ll be there! I look forward to meeting you in person.

  2. 2 TopL

    Hi Barrie, guess I’ll be the one coming up and introducing myself, since I can see what you look like, and I’m pretty sure I don’t look like a Fuji disposable camera :-).

    Cheers!


  1. 1 World wide photo walk: A synopsis « toplproject

