Pulled the trigger on a D300

24Jul08

Well, I apparently didn’t wait too long for anybody’s input in my previous entry about justifying a D300, of which I received nada. I’ve been relieved of US$1,625.

I’ve thought about this long and hard (and not just overnight), and concluded this is the right move for me. I can probably recoop about $700 or so on my current D200 on Ebay, so that leaves me out-of-pocket of a little over $900. Still quite a bit of change, but I can live with my decision. Sure I can keep the D200 as a backup camera, but given that this is really a hobby until someone wants to pay me for any of my photos (anyone? anyone?), I’d rather have the $900.

Here’s what I found in terms of pricing:

  • http://www.ibuyplasma.com has the best price I found at $1,433 for the body, but they’re not an authorized Nikon dealer. I want the warranty coverage, so this store is out of the running.
  • http://www.us1photo.com/www.us1camera.com has the next best price at $1,489, and they are considered an authorized dealer. Their parent company, PhotoMania, is anyway. But they apparently stuff the feedback mechanism with good feedback (see here), and I don’t care for their tactics of requiring customers to call in to confirm the orders just to up sell (see some of the reviews here). In the end, this is a moral call, and I decided not to support them.
  • At $1,625, there are many companies selling at the D300: B&H, Adorama, Amazon, etc. In the end, I picked Amazon because the company is closer (it’s just north of me in Seattle) so hopefully it’ll get here faster, and they have a better return/exchange policy in case there are dead/hot pixels that forces an exchange.
  • I tried to support my favorite local camera store, Pro Photo Supply, but they were asking $1,700 and couldn’t go lower.

In the process, I also ordered the Markins quick release plate for the D300 (the issue about Really Right Stuff vs. Markins plate will be for a different day), and Thom Hogan‘s excellent (or so I’ve read too many times) D300 guide.

Now I wait for all of the goods to arrive.

So after nearly 3 years and 10,000 shots, I’m about to retire my D200. It has definitely served me well, but it’s time to move on.

If you’re on the fence for a D300, read Thom Hogan‘s or Scott Kelby’s review of the D300, and it might just push you over. Or maybe you shouldn’t…

Cheers!

One Response to “Pulled the trigger on a D300”

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!



