Mozy backup problem RESOLVED!

19Jul08

A month later, I’m at the end of the tunnel with the Mozy issue and I see sunlight. (see the end of this post for timeline)

Unfortunately, it isn’t something the Mozy techs fixed on their side, and it’s not clear what needs to be done on the client side either in the event this happens in the future.

I spent several hours over the past few days trying out different size of TrueCrypt container to see where it went from working (2.7GB) to not working (3GB). This was in response to Mozy thinking originally that it was because the TrueCrypt encryption confused the encoding portion of the client software. But since I was able to backup smaller files, this proved untrue.

The clincher was when I moved the temp directory from my “E:/Temp” directory (E: drive has 20GB of space available) to my “D:/Temp” directory (D: drive has 395GB left), and suddenly it worked. What’s more puzzling was that I moved the temp directory back to “E:/Temp” and it continued to work! There is a glitch here somewhere if there ever is one. If you’ve been following the story, you’ll know that I originally moved my temp directory from “C:/WINDOWS/Temp” (C: has 5GB of space left) to “E:/Temp”, and that got me through most of my backup except the TrueCrypt container. Maybe I didn’t do that correctly. I rebooted as required after the change, and the Mozy log indicated that the change was reflected. So I’m stumped.

All I know is that now my backup has completed for the first time in a month, and that Mozy is able to incrementally backup the TrueCrypt container successfully after I added a file to it. So backing up TrueCrypt files is not an issue for Mozy.

Like I said before, it not clear why it worked, but if you also hit the “FilesystemError3” I encountered, try changing your temp directory to something with lots of space and then change back, if you must.

In the process, I had help from several honchos from Mozy, and I thank them for getting on the case at the end. Although it would’ve been less frustrating if they offered that help earlier on. I also spoke to them about their tech supports not spending enough time understand the problem and repeating previous responses, and they assured me this shouldn’t have happened, and they would be retraining their tech supports on this and other aspects. This is definitely good news for those using Mozy.

I do believe my experiences are a little skewed because I’ve been publicly keeping a running tab of my problem, and this required Mozy to pacify me, but I would like to think that with the greater sharing of information and the greater savviness of consumers, consumers will hear about problematic services and will avoid them. So it’s imperative that companies provide a good level of service to everyone.

In the end, anything Mozy does to improve their customer support level (keeping customers informed, etc.), and fix the issues seen by the users (and they are still out there based on the several comments I’ve received) is good for the consumers by increasing competition, and very good for Mozy by increasing revenue.

I also want to thank the folks at Carbonite and StoragePipe for offering help.

Oh BTW, if any Mozy tech is reading this, the “FilesystemError3” link still points to a missing page.

Cheers.

21 Responses to “Mozy backup problem RESOLVED!”

  1. 1 Ryan

    Top, I’m not with Tech Support, but I do work on Mozy’s marketing team. I’ve been following along and am happy to see that things are working again.

    Thanks for the heads up on that broken link. I’ll make sure to pass the word along so we can get that link working again ASAP.

  2. 2 Steve

    I’m using Mozy 1.8.8.2 and I’ve been experiencing the “Backend server error (MozyServerError12)” for a over two weeks now. Sent two e-mails to support with the log and answers to their basic questions, but no response yet.

  3. 3 Steve

    (correction to my post above, it hasn’t been over two weeks, it has only been one full week)

    Of course, after submitting the post above, Mozy magically starts working the same evening.

    I tried emptying my temp folder, and then just moved all TEMP / TMP folder pointers to a different drive (with reboot), but that didn’t seem to help.

    But tonight, I tried it again, and it has started working again.

    Presumably the MozyServerError12 is an error on Mozy’s end, but it would be nice to know what that error really means.

  4. 4 TopL

    Hi Steve,

    Glad to hear it magically resolved itself. I generally attribute such oddities to cosmic rays that miraculously flipped the right bit in the data stream, or ghosts in the system.

    Cheers!
    Top

  5. 5 Jeroen

    My mozy stopped working a week ago. Send an email to tech support, no response at all for a week!

    I’m getting Connectionerror3, mozyclienterror2 and mozyservererror6.

    Worst of all, restore isn’t working either, The restore tab is gone and web / DVD restore returns a generic error message. This means the error is within mozy’s servers.

    In my opinion, this is unacceptable for something as important as a backup. My data doesn’t feel safe with mozy anymore. They simply do not respond anymore. If my data crashes I want it back the same day or possible a day later of some problem pops up.

    I’m going to cancel my account and ask for a refund for the two months i’ve paid for.

  6. 6 David

    I began receiving Connection Error 3 messages a week ago, and have not been able to conduct a single back-up, when before Mozy had been working fine.

    I’ve emailed tech support 3 times, and have received no reply. Is the company in some sort of financial problem? Is it going under or on the verge of going under?

    Also, anyone have any recommendations on how to troubleshooting this? Or is the problem on Mozy’s side?

    Thanks!

  7. 7 TopL

    David, can you check that you do indeed have enough diskspace on the temp disk? That was the problem I saw. Once I changed that, it worked. See the steps to change your temp directory location here: https://toplproject.wordpress.com/2008/06/20/mozy-problems-and-readership/

  8. 8 Jeroen

    Hi Topl, I receive the same error message as david, but I have >500GB free on my C:\ drive. I’ve removed the drive letter from my D:\ drive so mozy couldn’t accidentally use that drive.

    I’m certain that there is a server error in my account because web/dvd restore isn’t working either.

  9. 9 David

    TopL,

    Thanks for the link. The steps in the link provided note that Vista is slightly different, but it doesn’t say how. I am running Vista Ultimate. Any ideas on what I need to do differently, if anything?

    FYI, I chatted online with Mozy customer support, and they are aware of the problem; seems to be affecting other users too. But they were not able to provide me with a solution, only that they’re working on it.

  10. 10 TopL

    Hi David,

    I don’t have Vista on my main computer, but here’s what I found:
    http://www.ghacks.net/2007/07/11/speed-up-windows-by-moving-the-temp-folder/

    There’s not a whole lot of info out there and I’m not totally sure if the link is talking about Vista or XP, but it’s worth a shot.

    –Top

  11. 11 Steve

    Update on the MozyServerError12 message.

    I submitted my support request on Saturday, 7/19/08. On Sunday 7/27/08 I received an e-mail from Mozy support asking for some additional info (I forgot to specify the different e-mail address I used on my account), and today 7/29/08 I received a follow up message letting me know that my “manifest has been repaired” (not sure exactly what that means, but I get the general idea). The support person was very courteous and did say that they have very been busy lately, so they are a behind and are trying to catch up on the support requests.

    So apparently this error indicates that some type of problem or corruption has occurred on Mozy’s end, and is not related to a workstation problem or configuration issue.

    If my case is any indication, it looks like there might be a 6-8 day wait receiving a response or resolution from support. I’m surprisingly okay with that since the service is so inexpensive, but it would be nice to at least get an auto-response e-mail from them when a support request is submitted.

  12. 12 TopL

    Thanks for the update Steve. I’m not seeing any backup problems currently, but it’s good info for others who might be. I’d appreciate if you can drop a note if when it’s resolved, as a public service announcement, given that Mozy doesn’t seem to be doing that themselves.

    Cheers,
    Top

  13. 13 Michael Kriegsman

    Haven’t been able to back-up my Mac G4 (running OS x) with Mozy either – for 8 days now. As others have reported, I’ve had no response from tech support (yet).

    Anyone else still having problems?

    Thank you!

    Best,
    Michael

  14. 14 Y.B.

    I am running the latest OSX and am constantly getting the connectionerror3 message. Internet works fine though. Why is this happening all of a sudden? Very disappointed.

  15. 15 Chris Chan

    I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM! I am running the latest Mac OSX (leopard) and am constantly getting the connectionerror3 message, too. Mozy tech support is totally clueless. I also can’t get into the restore function. Did anyone ever get this figured out???????????

  16. I am writing a story for SearchDataBackup on problems with online backup services such as Mozy and Carbonite. I’m interested in talking to users of these services about their experiences. I use both Mozy and Carbonite and they don’t back up external drives. Also how these companies solved the problems.

    If you are interested in talking to me for this story, contact me at dconnor@ssg-now.com.

    Thanks, Deni Connor

  17. 17 Peter

    I cam across this post when searching for a solution to my Disk Full error. My Mozy backups had been running without trouble for months and starting a day or two ago I have been getting this error.

    In my case it turns out the problem was that I deleted the Temp folder Mozy uses. I didn’t recall seeing the folder there before and it was empty so I deleted it. As soon as I recreated that folder, my backup worked perfectly.

    I have been very happy with Mozy, but their error messages are often cryptic and not indicative of the true problem.

  18. 18 Alexwebmaster

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  19. 19 CC

    I am ALSO having these connection issues in Austin, TX. Connection errors began about 2 weeks ago. Still no idea why…

  20. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog article or vice-versa? My website covers a lot of the
    same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  21. You really make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I
    in finding this matter to be actually something which
    I feel I would never understand. It sort of feels too complex and very wide for me.
    I am taking a look forward to your subsequent publish, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!



