Use the light

14Jun08

In my last entry, I wrote about 5 classic photo rules. One of which is to maximize the light, especially during the magic hours.

Yesterday, National Geographic Traveler blog also wrote about the light in a new photo tip.

They mentioned 3 “secrets”:

  1. Use the light during the magic hours but know when those times are since it differs by geography.
  2. Use the weather to your advantage, such as storms or fog.
  3. Use lower speed film even as it gets dark, as it provides better contrast. You get fewer shots but potentially better ones.

I totally agree with the first two, although both are hard to do as they require me to get out of my comfort zone — I’d rather be sleeping or eating dinner or just plain indoors.

The last I’m not so sure. Digital photography has closed that gap greatly. In the past with emulsion film, even ASA 200 film is noticeably worse than ASA 100 film. It’s grainier and lower in contrast. But digital film nowadays are much better. I can shoot at 400 or 800 with a dSLR and see only a mimimal reduction in saturation and contrast, and it keeps getting better with technology. Using lower speeds might be one way to go sometimes, but I won’t discount cranking up the film speed and shooting beyond what can be sharply achieved.

Cheers and have a good weekend.

2 Responses to “Use the light”

  1. 1 Osama

    Here is a photographer who has figured out how to use the light 🙂 He is evidently considered one of the top photographers in UK, if not the top one as far as landscapes. His gallery has some truly amazing pictures, bet you’ll like his B&W stuff:

    http://www.charliewaite.com

    Later

    Osama

  2. 2 TopL

    Wow. Charlie Waite’s images are excellent. I recognize many of the landmarks he photographed, especially several from the Tuscan region around Montepulciano. Indeed, I’ve shot a few of the same locations as he did but did not come close in image quality. What I’m most impressed with his photos is how he distills the images into basic shapes and forms, and use that to great effect. Wonderful.



