Picked!

19May08

Whadayaknow… apparently the Wired.com editors thought my Vatican spiral staircase photo was good enough to be an Editor’s Pick for their online Black and White photo contest. I’m quite honored!

Staircase at the Vatican Museum
Beautiful spiral staircase at the Vatican Museum

Here is a link to the largest version I uploaded.

This shot was the best of four taken back in 1999 with my Nikon N90s on 100 speed (I think) B&W film at around f/16 with a shutter speed of about 1 second or so, using the top railing as support as I pressed down onto the camera to keep it steady. I later digitalized the image with a Nikon Coolscan slide scanner. A much enlarged and framed copy of this image has been hanging over my fireplace mantle for several years now.

Check out the other Editor’s picks, as well as the top 10 viewer-selected shots.

