Photos from the Hoyt Arboretum

13Apr08

This is the first warm weekend in Portland. Yesterday hit a high of about 82 degrees, and today a high of around 72 degrees. It was sunny and very nice out, well, until this evening anyway.

My wife and I decided to enjoy some nature nearby at the Hoyt Arboretum. The Portland neighborhood is blessed with Forest Park, the largest natural urban forest reserve in the US, and the Hoyt Arboretum is situated within the area. I lugged my camera along and captured some images of Spring.

Magnolia trees in bloom
Magnolia trees on the Magnolia trail

Magnolia flower macro
Close up of a Magnolia flower

Cherry Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms in bloom

I’m a little embarrassed to say that this is the first time this year I’ve taken my camera out for a shoot. Nearly a third of the year is gone, and I’ve only started taking photos. Hopefully this is the beginning of a good year of pictures.

3 Responses to “Photos from the Hoyt Arboretum”

  1. 1 forkboy1965

    The cherry blossom image is great! Nice line. Nice bokah. Nice choice of going vertical (portrait).

    It’s the sort of image that makes one truly believe spring has sprung.

  2. 2 TopL

    Thanks forkboy! The Nikkor 60mm micro AF does work pretty well for which it is intended. Cheers!


  1. 1 A GUI for ExifTool « toplproject

