Luck sometimes matters in photography

30Mar08

This shot was taken in Paris at the Louvre. We were waiting in line to get tickets. I had my camera out and was looking for interesting subjects. I noticed the entry way with the two ladies walking by. The entry way framed the glass pyramids and the building beyond nicely. The ladies were silhouetted by the backlighting. I wasn’t quite ready to take the shot when the cyclist came into the picture. I didn’t have time to fiddle with the camera settings. I had one shot and I took it. It was pure luck. It’s not the perfect shot — the entry way, pyramids and building could be lined up better, there could be more separation between the cyclist and the ladies, but that was all academic if I didn’t get the shot.

This was what I captured, and I thought it was pretty darn cool.

A little work in Lightroom and Photoshop to get the levels right, change it to B&W, and to remove a patch of stain on the hallway resulted in this final image.

Waiting in line at the Louvre

